OLPC is a failure in one aspect, but…

Chris Blattman linked to an Alanna Shaikh post that buries the One Laptop per Child project:

It’s time to call a spade a spade. OLPC was a failure. Businessweek called it two years ago. Now, Timothy Ogden, editor-in-chief of Philanthropy Action has made a compelling argument to give up on OLPC. He points out that supporting de-worming programs has more impact on child learning than the OLPC laptops.  The laptops were designed without end-user input, they cost too much both to produce and to run, and they’re now being outcompeted by commercial laptops. Only about a million OLPCs have shipped so far.

Meanwhile, a commenter, Gansler, notes Shaikh’s rhetorical tendency:

Alanna Shaikh and I worked together. I found then, as I do now, that her rhetoric is a bit thick, a bit black and white – all is doom and gloom (though sometimes it’s awesome and bright). I find her “Dream is Over” comment very much in line with that.

While I do consider the OLPC laptop project itself rather a failure — its relentless pursuit of volume, its alienation of the teaching profession (the two are related, in a chicken-and-egg way: OLPC has to sell in spades to achieve low per-unit price; third-world educational budgets are limited; ergo some money has to be diverted from traditional, human-resource-heavy teaching approaches. Rather unethical at the very least, using thirld world students and teachers as human lab rats.

Whether it would have worked better had it targeted educational niches in the developed world — home-schooled kids, isolated rural kids wanting to collaborate with others across geographical distances, or as a supplement in general for public school education, since after all, studies /do/ show that a high proportion of US teachers are not qualified to teach their subject — is an exercise is uchronia. We’d simply never know. We do know certain things, though:

  • OLPC single-handedly removes the linkage between ultra-portability and ruggedness on one hand, and price on the other. Remember the pre-netbook days of super-expensive ultra-portables? Intel responded by introducing the Classmate, which begat the netbook, and the rest is history.
  • The OLPC user interface, Sugar, lives on in Sugar on a Stick. It’s bootable from a USB stick, can be installed, and runs on commodity hardware which are aplenty even in underdeveloped countries.
  • The amazing LCD from OLPC is being commercialized by Pixel Qi, and is coming to a laptop near you within months. Obligatory plug: I maintain a Facebook group that (attempts to) keep track of Pixel Qi announcements. Some of the videos are just simply delicious.

So I guess this is turning into a eulogy. OLPC has failures in abundance, but it is a radical, category-creating product. Negroponte could have managed it better, but he should still be able to take pride of what the project managed to accomplish. You can’t make an omelette without breaking eggs, after all.

For those of you steeped in Judeo-Christian history, think of OLPC as the John the Baptist to netbooks’ Christ: loud, insistent, un-PC, and martyred, but a success nonetheless.

24 responses to “OLPC is a failure in one aspect, but…

  1. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good.
    I don’t know who you are but certainly you are going to a famous blogger if you are not already ;) Cheers!

  2. It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d without a doubt donate to this brilliant blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your
    RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to brand new updates and will talk about this website with my Facebook group.
    Chat soon!

  3. I’ve been surfing online more than three hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It is pretty worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all web owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the net will be much more useful than ever before.

    Muscle Factor X supplement

  4. Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to your blog?
    My blog is in the very same area of interest as yours and
    my users would genuinely benefit from a lot of the information you provide here.
    Please let me know if this alright with you. Cheers!

  5. Hello! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a collection of
    volunteers and starting a new initiative in a community in the same niche.
    Your blog provided us beneficial information to work on.

    You have done a outstanding job!

  6. This is the right site for anybody who would like to find out about this topic.
    You realize so much its almost tough to argue with you (not that I personally will
    need to…HaHa). You certainly put a fresh spin on a topic that’s been written about for a long time. Great stuff, just wonderful!

  7. I’m really inspired together with your writing abilities and also with the structure on your blog. Is that this a paid subject matter or did you modify it your self? Anyway keep up the nice quality writing, it’s uncommon to peer
    a great blog like this one these days..

  8. Do you have a spam problem on this website; I also am a blogger, and I was curious about your situation; we have developed some nice
    practices and we are looking to exchange strategies with others, be
    sure to shoot me an email if interested.

  9. It’s appropriate time to make a few plans for the longer term and it is time to be happy. I’ve learn this
    post and if I may I want to counsel you some interesting issues or tips.

    Maybe you can write subsequent articles relating to this article.
    I want to read more issues about it!

  10. Simply want to say your article is as amazing.
    The clearness for your put up is simply spectacular and i could suppose you’re an expert on this subject. Fine with your permission allow me to seize your RSS feed to keep updated with coming near near post. Thanks a million and please continue the enjoyable work.

  11. whoah this blog is magnificent i really like reading your posts.
    Keep up the good work! You realize, many people are searching round for this info,
    you can help them greatly.